ilka brand designerin

My passion for accessory design began while studying fashion design and doing an exchange semester in Milan. In 2006 I finished my studies at fashion design at HTW Berlin and 2 years later, in 2008, I started my own label.

It was my vision to design bags and cases for laptops and phones that have the timeless and elegant feeling of a beautiful leather handbag. My designs are always based on a combination of functionality, a clear fitted silhouette and elegance. The bags work as protection as well as fashionable accessories on their own.

We carry our laptops and phones around everyday, so why not carry them with style?

Leather is for me the most beautiful organic material. When I designed the first Lapaporter collection, there was no doubt that I wanted to work with leather. I love the way it changes as you use it, how it ages with grace. Leather tells a story that no synthetic material can. It tells its own story.

The texture of the leather inspires me, it must always be soft to touch. Whether it is the luxurious feel of lamb leather or the casual touch of suede, this material completes the design and makes it both timeless and durable, enough to last for a lifetime and perhaps even more. All Lapaporter products are carefully designed and handcrafted in our Berlin based studio.

Since 2015, I have been hosting several leather workshops at my studio. I offer two different types of courses, for beginners and advanced. The one for beginners teaches participants the basics of working with leather and gives them the opportunity to make craft their first leather product. The workshop for more advanced participants addresses those who are already acquainted with the sewing machine and have worked a little bit with leather before. You can find more information in the leather courses section.

Working as a designer has always been my wish. The creativity of Berlin and the way the city constantly reinvents itself have always inspired my work and given me enough freedom to do what I love everyday.

I am very happy to receive your feedback and comments. Don’t hesitate to drop a line if you have any question and in the meantime, enjoy browsing through our online web-shop!

Ilka Brand studied fashion design at HTW Berlin. However, she discovered her passion for accessory design during her exchange semester at NABA, Nuova Accademia Di Belle Arti in Milan. Later, the designer gained experience in London next to Preen, J. Mskrey and Clemens Ribeiro, as well as in the German fashion industry. She returned to accessory design and started her own label in 2008, Lapaporter.

The first Lapaporter collection was presented by Ilka during Fashion Week in New York. Further presentations followed at Modefabriek in Amsterdam, DMY International Festival Berlin, Blickfang in Wien, Changing Room in Barcelona, Bread and Butter in Berlin. Since 2012, the yearly collections have been showcased at PREMIUM and SEEK in Berlin and Tranoi in Paris.

ilka brand designerin

Meine Leidenschaft für Accessoire-Design begann während eines Auslandssemesters an einer Modeschule in Mailand. Mein eigenes Label gründete ich dann 2008, zwei Jahre nachdem ich mein Modedesignstudium an der HTW in Berlin beendet hatte.

Es war von Beginn an meine Vision Taschen für Laptops oder Telefone zu entwickeln, die das zeitlose und elegante Gefühl von edlen Lederhandtaschen besitzen. Funktionalität, Eleganz und eine klare Silhouette zeichnen den Stil meiner Produkte aus. Die Taschen dienen als Schutzhüllen, sind aber zugleich ein modisches Accessoire.

Wir tragen unsere Handys und Laptops jeden Tag mit uns herum, warum tun wir dies nicht mit Stil?

Leder ist für mich das schönste, natürliche Material. Als ich meine erste Kollektion für Lapàporter entwarf, gab es keinen Zweifel daran, dass ich mit Leder arbeiten wollte. Ich liebe, wie sich im Laufe der Zeit seine Beschaffenheit ändert, es altert mit Anmut und erzählt seine eigene Geschichte.

Es sind vor allem die Textur und die Haptik der Oberfläche, die mich inspirieren. Leder sollte sich sanft anfühlen. Ob es nun die luxuriöse Geschmeidigkeit von Lammleder ist, oder die lässige Struktur von Velours – das Material vollendet das Design und macht es zeitlos und beständig für das ganze Leben. Alle Produkte werden mit größter Sorgfalt in meinem Berliner Atelier von Hand angefertigt.

Seit 2015 veranstalte ich Leder-Workshops in meinem Atelier. Es gibt zwei verschiedene Kurse, für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene. Im Anfängerkurs lernen die Teilnehmer die Grundlagen von der Arbeit mit Leder kennen und haben die Möglichkeit ihr erstes Lederprodukt zu fertigen. Der Workshop für fortgeschrittene Teilnehmer richtet sich an diejenigen, die bereits mit der Nähmaschine vertraut sind und schon ein wenig mit Leder gearbeitet haben. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter dem Menupunkt Lederkurse.

Ich habe mir immer gewünscht als Designerin zu arbeiten. Ich liebe die Kreativität von Berlin, und ich liebe es, wie sich die Stadt konstant neu erfindet. Berlin inspiriert mich für meine eigene Arbeit und gibt mir Raum zum Atmen. Mein eigenes Label zu führen bedeutet für mich, die Freiheit zu besitzen, das zu tun, was ich liebe, jeden Tag.

Ich freue mich sehr über Kommentare und Feedback, viel Spass beim stöbern im Onlineshop!

Ilka Brand studierte Modedesign an der HTW Berlin. Die Liebe zum Accessoire-Design entdeckte sie jedoch während ihres Auslandsstudiums an der NABA, Nuova Accademia Di Belle Arti in Mailand. Später sammelte die Designerin Erfahrung in London bei Preen, J.Maskrey, und Clemens Ribeiro, sowie in der deutschen Modeindustrie, kehrte aber zum Accesoire-Design zurück und machte sich 2008 mit ihrem Label Lapàporter selbständig.

Die erste Kollektion von Lapàporter präsentierte Ilka Brand während der Fashion Week in New York. Weitere Präsentationen folgten auf der Modefabrik in Amsterdam, dem DMY International Design Festival Berlin, der Blickfang in Wien und Changing Room in Barcelona, der Bread and Butter in Berlin. Seit 2012 wurden die Kollektionen regelmäßig auf der Premium in Berlin und der Tranoi in Paris präsentiert.